Autumn Pumpkin Chili

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The pictures aren’t great – sorry.  I should have stirred it in the slow cooker before taking the first one so it doesn’t look watery (it wasn’t!), and I should have taken another one in the bowl before I ate most of it!  Oops.

This recipe comes from Taste of Home.  It is subscriber-only content online, so I can’t give you the exact recipe, but I’ll give you the gist:

Sautee onion, garlic, and two bell peppers (two, different colors for aesthetic appeal!).  I got excited and forgot the sautee part, so I just chopped them all and put them in the slow cooker.  Still turned out fine.

Cook up some ground turkey. Add it to the slow cooker.  You can use ground-whatever, but I did the turkey like the recipe calls for.

The recipe calls for a can of solid-pack pumpkin, which would be easy. I had half of a sugar pumpkin left over after the hubs made pumpkin pancakes, so I cooked it up and scooped it into the pot.  I was about 1/2 cup short, so I used up some leftover canned pumpkin from some pumpkin smoothies I made a few days before.  I was still about 1/4 cup short.  I didn’t want to open an entire can of pumpkin for the 1/4 cup I needed, so oh well. It was 1/4 cup short.

Add a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes with their juice.  I used a pint of my canned tomatoes.

Add 4 1/2 teaspoons of chili powder, plus 1/4 tsp each salt and pepper.

We ended up adding about a teaspoon of cumin to the pot, which I think it really needed.  I also added a can of black beans, since I really like beans in my chili.

Served with Erdinger Octoberfest Weissbier.

Posted on October 3, 2012, in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

