So. Much. Laundry Soap!

I told you here how to make homemade laundry soap.  Here are some pictures of the final product, after it sat for about two days and I finally had time to put it into containers and do some laundry with it.

 

(Above) In the bucket. Kind of frothy on top.

(Above) Here’s a better shot so you can see what it really looks like. It’s pretty watery, and very cloudy.

(Above) I had been saving random containers for a while, knowing I was going to be doing this.  I filled two dish soap bottles, one powdered creamer container…

(Above) …one empty laundry soap container…

 

(Above) …and an empty apple juice bottle.  I had about a cup or two left, which I ended up using for a few loads of laundry and dumping the last of it down the drain (I’m out of bottles and have enough here for a YEAR or so of laundry!).

I did four loads of laundry: one dark clothes, one light clothes, one sheets and towels, and one queen sized comforter.  The clothes had no smell whatsoever coming out of the washer.  Perfect – that’s what I was going for.  I washed one towel that had seed starters sitting on it with quite a bit of dirt spilled on it, and it came out clean.

We have no kids or pets, and only regularly do two loads a week (one light, one dark. It’s just me and The Hubs here.)  For our limited laundry needs this should be just fine!

Posted on April 27, 2013, in DIY. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Seriously? I just bought the stuff to do this a couple days ago! I’m going to make the non-liquid version, though. Not looking forward to the grating.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

